Iron Thorn Super Review

To give the group a chance to read different books (and more frequently), the Super Reviewers are doing smaller, but still as super reviews on other books. One such review is this one. But the rules are still the same, where we:

  • share several points of views
  • use a handful of paragraphs
  • take down one big, bad book

Today we’re starting with a review of Caitlin Kittredge’s Iron Thorn.

kittredge-caitlin-the-iron-thornIn the city of Lovecraft, the Proctors rule and a great Engine turns below the streets, grinding any resistance to their order to dust. The necrovirus is blamed for Lovecraft’s epidemic of madness, for the strange and eldritch creatures that roam the streets after dark, and for everything that the city leaders deem Heretical—born of the belief in magic and witchcraft. And for Aoife Grayson, her time is growing shorter by the day.
Aoife Grayson’s family is unique, in the worst way—every one of them, including her mother and her elder brother Conrad, has gone mad on their 16th birthday. And now, a ward of the state, and one of the only female students at the School of Engines, she is trying to pretend that her fate can be different.

See what we think, and then see what you think. If you’ve already read the book, we’d love to hear swhat you think. Hell, if you haven’t and you think you might, you can share that, too.

Reviews

Holly Iron Thorn is a really hard book for me to review. All the way through, I kept thinking I should be enjoying it, but wasn’t. It was only my third sample of steampunk, a genre for which I am still holding off judgement. I must admit that the world building was fantastic in a lot of ways. I liked the creature mythology, but struggled to feel comfortable with some of the alternate history aspects, which didn’t always seem to mesh well. This is probably my issue more than that of the book, but it made it difficult for me to relax into the tale. My biggest issue, however, lay with the characters.  I didn’t understand Aoife’s motivations, and found the relationship between her and her friend Cal really difficult. They both treated each other like crap. As for the love interest storyline: I couldn’t stand Dean. His nicknames for Aoife made me want to vom. “Princess” and “Kid” are not, I repeat NOT, sexy nicknames. No.

I won’t be reading the sequel.

 

Jalisa Iron Thorn was all around a pleasing read for me. It wasn’t one that I would rave about, as there was nothing particularly striking about it, but I enjoyed the read nonetheless. I thought that Aoife was interesting, if illogical and I liked her spirit, despite the misguidance it gave her actions. Kittredge painted a very visual world and I was happy to view it, as the details were very cinematic. Unfortunately, besides like Aoife, I wasn’t a big fan of any other character (and I wasn’t a big fan of Aoife’s either). Aoife’s partner in crime Cal was annoying from beginning to end and love interest Dean could have been any ol’ slick, patronizing guttersnipe (though I preferred him to the bumbling, inconsistent Cal).
The storyline was fine, though it didn’t leave much of an impression. I could easily forget about it, so I doubt I’ll pick up the second book, either, but I am a fan of the concepts of steampunk and unlike some other reads I’ve attempted, this was easy to read and at the time of reading wasn’t dull. I figure many of my middle school students would enjoy it quite a bit, though it would leave most adult readers feeling a little…unsatisfied.

Leave a Reply

