Faerie Tale Super Review

Time for a long awaited, round two of the Super Review, where we:

  • share several points of views
  • use a handful of paragraphs
  • take down one big, bad book

Our second review: Raymond Feist’s Faerie Tale.

The town records have it listed as Erl King Hill – ‘Hill of the Elf King’. To the locals it is known simply as the old Kessler Place. A great ramshackle house, it stands among deep woods, full of memories and myth. There are strange stories about the old place: talk of haunted woods, strange lights that dance like fire, buried treasure and lost children, now long forgotten. But for the Hastings Family, Gloria and Philip, and their eight-year -old twins, Sean and Patrick, and Philip’s teenage daughter, Gabrielle, it is the stuff of dreams. They are looking for a fresh start and they think they have found it – until the day Sean and Patrick discover the secret of Fairy Woods and the luminous elfin beings who lure them into an unearthly world of ancient Celtic magic. Suddenly, what was a dream has become a terrifying nightmare. For those entrancing sprites are in reality demons determined to possess the children’s very souls!

See what we think, and then see what you think. If you’ve already read the book, we’d love to hear what you think. Hell, if you haven’t and you think you might, you can share that, too.

Reviews

Holly I’m sorry to say that Faerie Tale bored me to tears. I wasn’t literally curled up on the floor, sobbing into my arms from shear lack of interest, but it was a near thing. I kept thinking the story should appeal to me. The plot had so much potential, but I couldn’t care less about any of the characters. The narrative was well written in terms of grammar etc, but there was no edge, no action, and no voice – not no appealing voice, just no voice. I was also very confused by the depiction of childhood… maybe this is an 80s generation gap issue. The only time I became endeared to the text was through my 12 year old mind’s response to language such as “intercourse”. It made me laugh, but I don’t think that’s a good thing in this particular case.

Nanette Faerie Tale held a mysteriously magical world. Feist created a sense of fear, lust, love & down right magic. I’ve not read any of his work prior to this, but as I’ve searched for more of his work, seems magic & folk lore are his thing. The tales that swarm through this tale are gripping. Creating twists and unexpected out comes. The characters held my interest, for each opened up a new view of what the plot would uncover at each turn. I stayed intrigued with the story throughout and learned to listen to the trees if I’m ever in a forest. My only squabble is the lack of periods. (.) Feist writes very long sentences. And if could be his writing style. So I succumbed to the run on use of over explanation, and learned to appreciate the vision he created in my head. Overall I’d give Faerie Tale a 3.75 star rating. Just enough that I may read more of his work.

Jessa My first impression of FAERIE TALE? The cover art scared the beejeezus out of me. Unfortunately, what was scary about the inside of the book wasn’t the story, but the actual writing. I couldn’t get past the choppy, run-on sentence structure, the use of single quoted dialogue (ack!), or the poor and often random character development. I made it to page 42 and gave up. I already loathed the mother’s character, and couldn’t see that changing (save for a miracle and a complete turn-around in her whiny attitude). I hate not finishing a book. Hate it. But I just couldn’t force myself to get through FAERIE TALE. Out of curiosity, I went online to read reviews and was surprised to see so many gave stellar ratings toFAERIE TALE. I was scratching my head in confusion. However, there were also a large amount of reviewers that said you just had to get through the first 1/4 of the book. Well, I have far too many books on my TBR list to dredge through a painfully boring first 1/4 of a book that may or may not live up to my expectations. It just wasn’t worth it to me.

Jalisa While I didn’t start crying as Holly did, I did have the odd impulse to slam my hand in a door when I first started Faerie Tale. I understand that many books take a while to get into the meat of the story, but I don’t think that should apply to hooking or engaging the reader and that is certainly what happened. While well-written Feist employs a style that is whistle-clean of…well, personality. I enjoyed the tale and was finally interested in the unfolding the story many chapters in, but I had no connection to any character and my interest eventually waned in response to slow narrative. It was a struggle to complete and I couldn’t explain to anyone why I did besides sheer determination. But I’d recommend to diehard fans of Stephen King who have run out of options. But try Koontz first.

So, what do you think?

***

Note: Reviews will be added as they come for here on out. All the Reviewers have busy lives, but we’re all committed to sharing the book experience–no matter how long it takes!

Learn more about Raymond Feist at his site here–where you can interviews and book previews!

One thought on “Faerie Tale Super Review

  1. I really wanted to like this book more based on the otherworldly elements that were wrapped so well into the research being done about the area/legends. But the pace and style really got in the way.

Leave a Reply

